Skip to content

The Meaning of Phrases

March 7, 2012

People always come up to me and ask me what do phrases mean, and I rebuff them rudely. This is because I have long had a deep-seated fear of revealing my phrase knowledge due to an unrelated incident where I was once chased by a dog in the park. However, I recently had a change of heart and have decided to share my wisdom about phrases with people after all. This is the first instalment of maybe two such things before I lose interest once more.

Phrase

“I dodged a bullet on that one.”

What the fuck does it mean?

This means when somebody has managed to cheat death, perhaps through a deal with the devil or having won a game of chess against the Grim Reaper. Avoid people who use this phrase, as they are either wicked chess hustlers or they have been marked for death at a nearby but later point, and will probably die in an ironic or annoying way. The films Final Destination 1 through 12 and even 3D were based on this phrase, and they teach us much about the whole bullet-dodging process. Another film based on a phrase was 2004’s It’s All Gone Pete Tong starring Paul Kaye, which is an example of how not to make films based on phrases.

It is also used in the literal sense when somebody has dodged a bullet. Therefore it is OK to use this phrase if you have literally dodged a bullet, although some people might look at you funny. A famous bullet-dodger was Neo from The Matrix, but he is now known for being sad on a bench. It has in fact gone Pete Tong for him, perhaps because the other Matrix films sucked. Well, that’s it for now, I hope you learned more about phrases today.

From → All things

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

